Burying the Umbilicus

Leslie Korn on Mexico, medicine and more..

Shopping for food in Mexico

Posted by lekorn on December 9, 2009

I love shopping in Mexico. Yesterday I went to the Mercado Aramara, the last great open air market in PV that sits on historical grounds of the Wixáritari . I bought 3 kilos of Pargo (Lutjanus novemfasciatus) fish heads to make a gelatinous broth for the dogs. Its also known as dog snapper so I think its perfect for the dogs.  a 1/4 kilo of Dorado (aka Mahi Mahi or Coryphaena hippurus) cubed for ceviche Acapulco, a kilo of brown beans, a kilo of bananas, guavas, limes, avocados, a puño of cilantro, a bag of fresh wild strawberries, chiles tomatoes, onions, beets and carrots and finally squash flower blossoms which I immediately went home and sauteed in butter and ate. All this for for 250 pesos (20.00usd).

The fish heads go into a pot for an hour and then are separated from the broth and cooled. Carefully, I cleaned the meat off the head, making sure to catch any small bones, I saved the eyes for Flip whose eyes are starting to get that bluish tinge common in 11 year olds. Once in the fridge, the broth turns into a thick gelatin-pure protein which the dogs love. This dish is especially well-suited for dogs with allergies or digestive issues and is a good  supplement to kibble.Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Shopping for food in Mexico”

  1. Blo said

    oh my gosh =(, you’re so lucky. I’m a mexican expat (living in Italy since 2002) and I’ll kill for a fresh, scented, sweet guayaba. ^^ even if I’ve found some in a local market near to my home, they aren’t tasty as mexican ones are and they are a lot more expensive (1.50 euro each).

Leave a Reply

 
